20 Years, 20 Faces: Week One, Part A: Brock and Lyle

LCC Radio celebrates its 20th anniversary this month. We’re introducing a feature called “20 Years, 20 Faces.” Check back here at the beginning of every week in February to get a glimpse at the people behind the airwaves . . . because we have great faces, even for radio. Wink!

Brock Elsesser

Brock Elsesser

Brock Elsesser

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

BE: 1996-1997

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

BE:  I was the afternoon host … I was on air from 1-5 everyday, Monday through Friday. It was myself and MoJo, doing adjacent shifts.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

BE:  It was the process of learning radio production, and the time Rosemary Clooney called . . . she was so nice, and I had no idea who she was. Lynn asked me afterwards . . . “Do you know who she is?” and then she told me and I was like, “Holy . . . ” 

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

BE:  It was all smooth jazz then . . . I was a 17-year-old high school kid, so whenever we played Higher Ground, I was like, “He’s so cool, he played a (Red Hot) Chili Peppers song . . .”  I didn’t realize Stevie did the original.

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

BE:  I am the audio production guy for the college [Lansing Community College], and I’m also the audio recording faculty, so I teach audio production and recording here. As far as what’s next . . . I don’t know, maybe my own production company at some point.

 

Lyle Laylin

Lyle Laylin

Lyle Laylin

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

LL:  The year I hired in, 1988.

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

LL:  Engineer. It means that I drive the train, get to blow the whistle, and I have a funny hat!

LCC Radio:  And for serious?

LL:  You gotta keep the train on the tracks! For serious: I maintain the equipment and keep us on the air as much as possible.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

LL:  Probably getting us on the air . .. when we went from being distributed just on campus to being an actual radio station. 1994.

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

LL: The Hustle!

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

LL:  I’m doing the same thing I always do: fixing stuff. And for the future . . . well . . . fixing more stuff. That’s pretty much always the plan. It’s what I am. Even if I wasn’t here, I have a basement of stuff to fix of my own.

