20 Years, 20 Faces: Week One, Part B: Parker and Tia

Ron "Parker" Parkinson

Ron “Parker” Parkinson

 

Ron “Parker” Parkinson

LCC Radio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

Parker:   2000-2001

LCC Radio:  What was your role here?
 
Parker:  Afternoon host Mon-Fri.  I also worked with the internet station “Channel Z”.
 
LCC Radio: What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?
 

Parker:  We had this PSA that ran all the time with Ray Charles on it.  It was about keeping kids in the back seat when you drive.  He would say “Make sure to keep young children in the backseat so they stay safe….even when I drive.” I thought it was hilarious.

Also the other student employees I worked with.  One of whom happens to be the boss there now.  We had a lot of fun.

LCC Radio: What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?
 
Parker:  The Theme From St. Elsewhere by Dave Grusin (Seriously. That was my smooth jazz jam).
 
LCC Radio: What are you doing now / what’s next for you?
 
Parker:  I’m the afternoon host at 94.1 The Edge in Lansing.  Who knows what’s next?  Whatever it is, I hope it takes me back to someplace it never snows.  I lived in Southern California for a while and the weather was amazing.
 
Tia Imani Hanna

Tia Imani Hanna

 

Tia Imani Hanna

LCC Radio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?
 
TIH:   1996-97
 
LCC Radio:  What was your role here?
 
TIH:  I was radio host for the evening jazz show that later became the Vinyl side of Midnight.
 
LCC Radio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?
 
TIH:  Being a featured performer on the Concert Under the Stars concert live radio broadcast 1996.
 
LCC Radio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?
 
TIH:  “After You’ve Gone” arrangement by Nicholas Payton.
 
LCC Radio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?
 
TIH:  I currently teach voice and violin at my private studio through my company Green Bow Music and At Elderly Instruments in Lansing. I also am working on my third CD with my group The Tia Imani Hanna Project. This group changes genres and personnel on every project. My most recent project consisted of percussionist Caroline Koebel and multi-instrumentalist Elden Kelly doing pure Improvisation and song creation. Entitled “The Spaces Between Us,” http://www.cdbaby.com/cd/thetiaimanihannaproject.
 
My up coming project is hopefully going to be working with many of my Detroit-area family and friends with original compositions. 
