20 Years, 20 Faces: Josh Hackela and Tod Bauer

Josh Hakala

Josh Hakala

Josh Hakala

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

1999-2003 (I think I started in ’99?)

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

Sports Director / play-by-play announcer / On-Air host (I hosted the ‘Blues Beat’ as my regular show among other things)

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

There were so many memories I had with our sports programming, but the highlight was definitely in 2002 when I traveled to Phoenix to broadcast the LCC softball team as they won the national championship in dramatic fashion. It remains the only time I’ve ever called a game in 120 degree heat while having to cover my broadcasting equipment because I was being sprayed by a bunch of misters to stay cool.

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

Norah Jones’ first album came out while I was there and I remember we were way out in front of that one. We were playing it long before she won like 50 Grammys and all the other stations jumped on the bandwagon. I also loved sitting in on Rootsman Bird’s show, that was always such a treat.

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

My wife and I took our recently-born son and moved back to Michigan and I worked for 97.1 The Ticket (Detroit Sports Talk), the Big Ten Network, Fox Soccer Channel and Turner Sports before I had to take a break from broadcasting in 2011 after we added a pair of twin girls to our family.

 

Tod Bauer

Tod Bauer

Tod Bauer

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

I was involved at WLNZ from September 1998 to August 2001.

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

I served as Assistant Program Director during my time at WLNZ.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

I have so many that I can recall, but I remember having the honor of being able to interview great musicians such as Dave Koz, Peter White, and Dr. Billy Taylor to name a few!

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

I don’t have a particular song to name but during my time @ WLNZ, we played a good portion of contemporary Jazz. I wasn’t much of a fan of the songs we played by Michael Franks at first, but over time I came to appreciate his music.

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

I’ve lived in West Michigan now since 2001 and work in the Information Technology field. I am currently in the starting phase of trying to start my own consulting business helping people learn how to harness the power of technology in our every day lives.

