20 Years, 20 Faces: Week 3: Current Student Employees

Karen Hopper

Karen Hopper

Karen Hopper

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

I started volunteering in January of 2013 and had my first day as a student employee on February 18th. We’re celebrating an anniversary!

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

I do social media, blogging, I write some PSAs, and I’m on air (though my airtime is limited this semester). I also produce So Much More: Michigan Arts and Culture, which is hosted by Melissa Kaplan and Chad Badgero. When I started working here, I thought for sure that I was going to have my own show, but I haven’t put together a proposal yet. I find there are lots of other things that fill my time . . . like the M897 Artist Spotlight, which is pretty much my LCC Radio baby.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

My short radio play, Christmas Bargains opened the Silver Bells Radio Play (A Seussified Christmas Carol was the main event), and performing with and directing my cast was a lot of fun. And it was also a thrill to have something I wrote be performed on stage, in front of an audience.

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

Ha! You know, I wrote these questions and there’s no way I’m limiting myself to just one song. For national artists, I like Vampire Weekend “Unbelievers,” Lorde “Royals,” and Ha Ha Tonka “Rewrite Our Lives.” And Mike Doughty’s “27 Jennifers” isn’t even from this decade, but I’m always really happy when it hits our playlists.

For Michigan artists, I’m crazy about everything on the Hard Lessons album Arms Forest, and I still need to get my hands on their new album . . .

And let’s not forget my LCC Radio baby, the M897 Artist Spotlight. My favorites from some of them:

The Ragbirds: Six Wheels

Joe Hertler and the Rainbow Seekers: Carbon C14

Seth Bernard and May Erlewine: Baby You’re Power

Stella!: Pay For What You Get

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

I want to work in journalism full-time (I have a part-time gig in town) and I’m submitting my spec script to a couple of production companies. I’d like to be a TV writer.

***

Roxann Larrabee

Roxann Larrabee

Roxann Larrabee

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

I started as a volunteer two weeks before Thanksgiving in 2011 and then was hired as as student employee in February of 2012.

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

 I wear many hats, but one of my main roles is volunteer coordinator. I produce my own show, The Local Fusion.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

The day that Brendan and Mike allowed me to use them as models for “promotional portraits” for LCC Radio. We went down to Adado Riverfront Park for action shots. It was fun.

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

 I really enjoyed Gotye’s “Somebody That I Used to Know” when it first hit the airwaves. I also like Emily Bell, “Back to the Way I Was.”

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

What’s next for me is to manage my own media production business. And travel a lot!

***

Michael Steibel

Michael Steibel

Michael Steibel

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

I started volunteering in May 2012 and was hired that fall.

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

I do production and on-air stuff, and on-air broadcasts. And I’m involved with the Grand River Radio Diner show.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

One of them was last year’s Silver Bells in the City Radio Play and the role of Dead Head Fred. And being able to represent LCC Radio at Jazz Fest, doing the announcing.

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

I’ve learned to love local artists, like May and Seth Bernard, “Shine On.” Another one is Lindsay Lou and the Flatbellys, “The Power.” It’s stuff I wouldn’t normally listen to and then I realized that I like it, that it’s all right.

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

I’m looking into getting a degree in Music Therapy and if all goes well, maybe more production work.

***

Brendan Hamilton

Brendan Hamilton

Brendan Hamilton

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

I started in the summer of 2011 . . . the week before Common Ground. I became an employee that September.

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

I’m a student employee! I do a little bit of everything. Mostly production work.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

The time the Disney band came in . . . and all the times I’ve talked to Virg Bernero.

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

 “Percussion Gun” by White Rabbit.

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

Transfer to a university, get a degree possibly in Communications, or work in an audio studio.

