20 Years, 20 Faces, Final Week: Petersons, Mike & Steve (Not Related)

Mike Peterson

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

Mike: Memories include: hoisting the original tower up on top of the Arts and Sciences building, playing the first song heard on WLNZ “Angela” (Theme from TV Show Taxi) during a test of the station transmitter at midnight on the eve of our first broadcast day and then “living a dream come true” as we turned the transmitter on and WLNZ came alive. Seeing Dave Downing’s smiling face that day was the best.

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

 Mike: 

I am still using the microphone to do the “Fans in the Stands” show which keeps the radio part of me happy.

Steve Peterson

Steve Peterson

Steve Peterson

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio?

Steve:  I was involved at LCC Radio as a student from the summer of 1986 until the spring of 1989.

LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

Steve: I started on the carrier current AM campus station WLCR and then moved over to the cable FM station which at that time was WLCC. That station would later become what we know now as WLNZ. I was hired as a student aide during my time as a student acting in various positions including production director and program director. I graduated from LCC and was away from the station for two years while attending Michigan State University. Following graduation from MSU, I was hired back by the college as a part-time staff position opened up. It was at this time that LCC was in the application process for an FM Station. I was put in charge of programming and to assist the station for preparation to air. I was attending graduate school at MSU during this time and during the summer of 1992, I had to ask for a leave of absence to attend a graduate program that was out of state. Before I left for the summer, we were able to bring aboard Lynn Perrino to become the Program Director. When I returned, I was named Operations Manager to assist Dave Downing our Station Manager in getting WLNZ on the air. That goal and dream was realized on February 11th 1994. I started teaching radio classes at LCC the following fall and finished my graduate degree at Michigan State in 1995.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

Steve: There are so many great moments I really can’t choose just one. First the life long friends that I made at the station. It really felt like a family atmosphere and we learned from each other and from our teacher, mentor, boss and friend Dave Downing. Getting my first radio job. Jack Robbins contacted Dave Downing looking for a part-time position at WJIM radio. I was recommended and Jack hired me on my birthday in 1987. Getting to work with Jack was a tremendous experience that was a direct result of the LCC connection. Jack is another mentor and friend whom I owe a great amount of gratitude. Six ownership changes later, I am still doing work for the station for Michigan State Basketball games doing the “Fans in the Stands” pre-game show acting as a co-host with Duane Vernon on WJIM 1240 AM.

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

Steve: “Angela” by Bob James.

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

 Steve: I left WLNZ in the fall of 1995 to pursue work in vocational rehabilitation as a rehabilitation counselor (helping persons with disabilities gain employment). This was the major of my graduate studies and I am employed by the State of Michigan as a VR Counselor. I was teaching radio broadcasting classes at LCC until some changes were made to the Media Technology program and the radio curriculum was removed as a concentration area.

