On-Air Personality Ward Skillz talks about an upcoming WLNZ radio program

**Mitten Mayhem Radio starts Saturday night going into Sunday morning at midnight, Oct. 3rd**

“Ushering In a New Sound” by Kiah Boyd

Over spring break I got the opportunity to sit down with WQHH Power 96.5 Lansing’s very own Ward Skillz. He has been a radio host with 96.5FM since October of 2014 and is currently on the air Saturday nights from 6 to 10 p.m.

Ward Skillz graduated from J.W. Sexton High School and obtained a bachelor’s degree in telecommunications from Alabama A&M. He gained experience working with the radio through interning with V103 in Atlanta, GA., and at WEUP in Huntsville, AL.

The on-air personality will soon broadcast his voice across the LCC radio airwaves, right here on WLNZ 89.7FM. The new show will feature hip hop, R&B, underground, and independent local Michigan artists.

11820465_1642292816012367_1112038547_n(1)

Photo: @wardskillz Twitter

Strapped with determination and a passion for radio and music, we discussed his plans for his upcoming show.

What is your favorite part about working at Power 96.5?

“Radio has always been one of my passions other than music… I just love it. I love how I can be myself…it’s something that I’ve always wanted to do. I am thankful to be able to do it.”

What are you bringing from your internships, and your position at 96.5 that you will incorporate here at LCC Radio?

“I plan on providing a platform for more local and Michigan based music to be heard…it’s a lot of talent here in Michigan that often aren’t able to be heard, and it hasn’t really been a lot of people who have taken the time to make it happen.”

Do you hope to be able to reach out to more local artists with the show?

“Yeah, definitely. That’s a big part of the whole thing…”

Where did the idea for the show come from?

“I originally wanted to do an Internet radio show. However, when I was given the opportunity to host a show at LCC radio station, I thought, ‘why internet radio, when I can do FM station.’”

I noticed that you were heavily connected with the Michigan hip-hop circuit…

 “Other than performing, I do hip hop shows, events, I’ve worked with many artists and I write music myself. It’s crazy how now I can speak on the radio side and the music side, and some people can’t really see things on both side of the fence….I’m involved in the hip hop community here in Michigan, I’ve been a part of it for a really long time and now If I’m able to reach out to anybody else and help them become a part of it that’s what I’m here to do.”

As a Sexton alumni, Ward Skillz has been active with the Lansing based nonprofit group NEON or Nurturing Early On is Necessary,NEON or for short, for three years. NEON is an organization made to break down barriers and empower families of color to become more active in how they raise their children-, age’s birth to 8 years old.  Skillz spoke about his ability to relate.

 “I can relate to the youth, as far as some of the things they go through…sometimes it’s different to have a listening ear that’s not your parent, a relative, or a teacher … a lot of students seems to be way more comfortable with someone they feel isn’t going to be judgmental.”

Fun Fact:  Skillz’ second passion is acting and he has appeared in various films: “Set Up” with 50 cent and Bruce Willis, “Sparkle,” “Alex Cross” and the upcoming “Batman v. Superman.” He also had his first speaking role in “Love Positive,” a local short film.

If you’re as excited as I am to hear some new music and variety from local artists then be sure to tune in to LCC Radio 89.7, your community station! Mitten Mayhem Radio gets started Sunday morning at midnight on October 3, 2015 (or think of it as Saturday night).

To stay in the know of all things Ward Skillz, follow him at:

Facbook.com/wardskillz

Instagram: WARDSKILLZ

Twitter: @WARDSKILLZ

Soundcloud.com/wardskillz

