20 Years, 20 Faces: Daedalian Lowry

Daedalian Lowry

Daedalian Lowry

Daedalian Lowry

Station Manager

 

LCCRadio:  When were you involved with LCC Radio? LCCRadio:  What was your role here?

I started on WLNZ’s Internet Station back in ’98 (then known as Channel Z then) with a radio workshop through the MTEC program at LCC. In ’99, I officially came on board as a student employee. From 2000 to 2008 I was the Assistant Program Director and Production Manager. After the legendary Dave Downing moved on from his post in 2012, I returned to the station in my current role.

LCCRadio:  What’s your favorite LCC Radio memory?

There are so many. My favorite part has always been getting the opportunity to teach students and volunteers. An actual moment though – the Silver Bells Radio plays are always a blast!

LCCRadio:  What was your favorite song that LCC Radio played?

I don’t think I could pick a single song since the station has always incorporated so many different genres of music. I can’t call anything a favorite, but here are some gems from over the years.

AAA: Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeros – “Home”

Smooth Jazz: Bob Baldwin – “Funkin’ for Jaimaca”

Straight Ahead Jazz: Dave Brubeck – “Take Five”

Big Band Jazz: Anything that swings by Louis Prima or Dean Martin

Reggae: Sister Carol – “Opportunity”

Local Music: The Lansing Unionized Vaudeville Spectacle

Blues: Howlin’ Wolf – “Smokestack Lightnin”

Blues/Rock: Kenny Wayne Shepherd – Was

Rock: Anything by Clutch or Corrosion of Conformity – “Clean My Wounds”

LCCRadio:  What are you doing now / what’s next for you?

I’m currently the Broadcast Services Manager at LCC for both the TV and radio station. I have a lot of vision as to where both for both media outlets. My main goal is to expand on the groundwork that Dave had established, creating an environment and experience that is beneficial to both students and community. With new shows like the Local Lunch Hour, So Much More!, and the Local Fusion, we’ve already made great strides over the past year to increasing our inclusion of more local music and community based programming, I can only anticipate that LCC Radio will venture even further down that path.